January 15, 2021

Im A Celebrity viewers wonder if vegan Bev Callard should have eaten a Jammy Dodger – Manchester Evening News

https://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/news/showbiz-news/im-celebrity-viewers-wonder-vegan-19330679

I’m A Celebrity viewers flocked to the Internet as they wondered if vegan Beverley Callard should have eaten a Jammy Dodger biscuit.

The Corrie legend was elated when Russell Watson and Vernon Kay won the biscuit treats for the camp through the Castle Coins challenge.

The pair brought back a platter of the shortbreads and Bev was in her element as she tucked in.

“I’ve eaten a Jammy Dodger,” she cheered.

Viewers wondered if vegan Bev Callard should have eaten a Jammy Dodger
(Image: ITV)

Bev, who played Liz McDonald in Coronation Street, turned vegan in March and has been eating plant-based dishes at Gwrych Castle in Wales, including during the famously revolting eating challenge when she ate fermented plums, tofu and vomit fruit.

So fans of the show were quick to check if Jammy Dodgers were permitted in the vegan diet, and they were surprised by the answer.

Radio One DJ Nick Grimshaw was among those expecting to discover that she’d slipped up.

Bev was elated
(Image: ITV)

“Are Jammy Dodgers Vegan though Bev?” he asked on Twitter.

“Bev. Jammy dodger contains butter!” exclaimed another viewer.

“I am 100% sure Jammy Dodgers aren’t vegan Bev!!” said another.

But turns out Jammy Dodgers are actually vegan.

In July a dairy-free recipe change was announced by maker Burtons Biscuits meaning the iconic jam-filled snack was vegan again after adding milk protein in 2016.

Get the latest updates from across Greater Manchester direct to your inbox with the free MEN newsletter

You can sign up very simply by following the instructions here

Announcing the news on Instagram they wrote: “NEWS FLASH. Now EVERYONE can enjoy Jammie Dodgers.”

Adding milk was part of an overhaul to see the sugar content reduced by 22 per cent but vegans were not pleased and a change.org petition was launched.

“Lucky Bev knows Jammy Dodgers are now dairy free for vegans!!” said one fan.

“Yes. And they are one of the greatest accidentally vegan things in the world,” another answered ‘Grimmy’s’ question.

Another viewer tutted at those ‘shaming a vegan goddess.’