January 16, 2021

Kent Tier borders – the lines you should not cross from Wednesday – Kent Live


The second lockdown comes to an end as of Wednesday (December 2) and brings in the Tier 3 restrictions for Kent in its place.

With this comes the reopening of non-essential shops, hairdressers and more.

However, as we emerge from lockdown into Tier 3 our neighbours in London and Sussex, will be entering Tier 2 with less strict rules in place than here in Kent.

The biggest difference is that bars and restaurants here in Kent will have to remain closed but can reopen, albeit under tight restrictions, in the surround Tier 2 areas.

Signing up to the KentLive newsletter means you’ll receive our daily news email every weekday morning.

It couldn’t be simpler and it takes seconds – you can do it right at the top of this page in the box below the picture on most desktop and mobile platforms.

Type your email address into the ‘sign up to free daily alerts’ box, press ‘subscribe’ and you’re all set.

Changed your mind? There’s an ‘unsubscribe’ button at the bottom of every newsletter we send out.

One of the main issues with Tier 3 is that aside from work, education, for health reasons or caring responsibilities you should not leave your Tier 3 area.

This means that essentially the border for Kent is the extent of where you can travel and these borders suddenly become much more important.

This is what this border currently looks like across the county.

London borders

Dartford’s border with Bexley

Erith, Bexleyheath, Sidcup, Welling, West Heath, and Thamesmead East all fall under Bexley and so all fall under London’s Tier 2 ends up in.

This interactive map below shows the border with Kent more closely.

Everything contained within the red lines is in Bexley.

All the town and villages to the east, like Dartford, Darenth, and Swanley, fall under Kent.

To the south, lies Bromley.

Sevenoaks’ border with Bromley

Belvedere, Biggin Hill, Beckenham, Petts Wood, Chelsfield, and Shooters Hill all fall under Bromley.

Everything within the red lines below is in Bromley.

Crockenhill, Eynsford, Shoreham, Halstead, and Knockholt, to the east, all fall under Kent.

For those that still don’t know if they are within the area, they can use the government’s online postcode checker to find out which alert level your area is in.

Sussex borders

Tunbridge Wells’ border with East Sussex

East Sussex borders Tunbridge Wells, and Rye, Lewes, Battle and Hastings all fall under this area.

Wadhurst, Bodiam, Northiam Peasmarsh, Rye and Camber all sit near the border in East Sussex.

Lydd, Beneden, Goudhurst all sit on the Kent side of this border.

Surrey borders

Sevenoaks’ border with Tanbridge

Tanbridge is a district in Surrey that borders Sevenoaks and consists of the towns of Warlingham, Caterham, Oxted, Godstone and Lingfield.

The parts of Sevenoaks that exist on the Kent side of the border are Edenbridge, Four Elms, Westerham.

Essex borders

The Essex border really exists at the River Thames but on the other side of the river, Essex is in Tier 2 and so marks another area you can’t go.

Thurrock border